The Laurel Street Bridge is the second of five bridges when heading north,
or the fourth of five bridges when heading south, to cross the great river
in the city of Brainerd. While three of the bridges were very easy to
photograph, this structure (and the MN-210) was much more of a challenge.
There is no access to the sides of the bridge, the land is steep and rocky,
and the river is lined with brush.
This bridge is another routine concrete girder bridge. It features a unique
design for the piers. They are open, and the support columns rise at angles
to each other. The resulting opening in the piers is in the shape of a large
Construction on the bridge started in 1978. It opened on December 6, 1979,
but was not dedicated until May 28, 1980. The bridge plate dedicates the
bridge in memory of James Ronald Johnson. This structure replaced an 1898
bridge at the same location.
The photo above is a view looking west down the length of the bridge deck.
The photo below is the bridge plate when is part of a monument located
near the bridge. The photo at the top of the page is a view from the
southeast corner of the structure.